Home-Grown

I enjoyed the luxury of plenty of free-time this summer after my exams, and spent a lot of it in two of my favourite places- the kitchen and the garden!

Of course it’s pretty clear that I love cooking. But I do love being outside too and getting my hands covered in soil rather than flour for a change.  I get a real thrill out of seeing something grow from virtually nothing and get pretty excited about the appearance of a new courgette or a tomato turning red.  The resulting meals consisting almost entirely of home-grown vegetables are a lovely bonus.

I promised I would share some pictures of my garden, but, with the whirlwind of Vegan MoFo, didn’t get to doing so before it all got started.  I thought I’d take the opportunity to post them now it’s all over and while we’re still enjoying the novelty of autumn vegetables, not yet pining after the long-gone summer!

Garden

Sweet peas are the scent of summer! There was always a little vase of them on the kitchen table.

Garden

Garden

Garden

Garden

The flowers are my Mum’s domain. I try my best to learn all their names, but somehow always forget them… Our roses are especially beautiful.

Garden

The piles of green beans I was picking daily got bigger and bigger and admittedly we struggled to stay on top of them.

Garden

We actually grew these borlotti beans last year but they were too pretty not to share. We didn’t end up with a huge amount and I don’t really know how to use them fresh like this so we didn’t sow any more seeds this year. GardenTomatoes! What would summer be without them? We grew 3 varieties- my favourite were these little cherry tomatoes- sakura and orange paruche. They were like  sweets, and, warm off the vine were heavenly. We had so many that I ended up making a few batches of slow-roasted tomatoes with them as well.GardenI think every gardener experiences a case of courgette fatigue by the end of summer. They just don’t stop producing! I got a little cross that the muntjac deer kept sneaking up at night and chomping them, but after a while I was actually grateful for fewer courgettes to deal with!GardenPlenty of salad leaves. I love these crunchy little gem lettuces which we grow every year.GardenIt was fantastic to have our own beetroot, even if we didn’t have an awful lot. I think I mostly roasted them in tin foil and then ate them in salads. Though I’m sure I made my favourite tahini beetroot recipe with them, and there was Gena’s delicious beetroot-hemp granola too.

GardenWe were given the seeds for these squash so never really knew what variety they were. They seemed to be a hybrid summer/winter squash though. They had thick skins but the flesh was softer than most winter squash. It was fun to see them changing colour- first the stripes appeared and then they went yellow!

Garden

We discovered these little critters up near the house, trapped under a grate. Mr Frog……

Garden

…and Mr Toad! We put them in a bucket and took them down to the water.

Garden

There were so many butterflies this summer! They fly too quickly to take photos of though but I thought this spiky caterpillar was rather fun. (Update: Apparently he would have grown into a “Tussock moth” )

Garden

We don’t grow fruit usually (although there are plans to try some soft fruit next year apparently) but did try out these this year.

Do you know what it is? It’s a physalis/cape gooseberry/Inca berry. There are various names for them and I’d only seen them before as a garnish on dessert plates. Sadly they never ripened, even in the greenhouse and with all the sunshine we had.

Garden

This little plum tree was a new addition this year. We did really well from it and got a lot of fruit, despite its size. Most of these were eaten fresh but, combined with a neighbour’s fruit they also got turned into my Maple-Oat Crumble.

Garden

We do have wild blackberries galore . I picked several batches of them to go in the freezer to be turned into apple and blackberry compote, crumbles and smoothies. There are still some in there from 2012 though!

Garden

Alfie likes them too! We both enjoyed them out on our walks.

Garden

A few teeny-tiny wild strawberries were discovered too. These were very sweet-tasting as well as cute.

Crochet

If only! Perhaps I was making up for the fact that we can’t grow citrus or bananas here in crocheting my own!

Did you grow your own vegetables this year? What summer vegetable are you going to miss most in the autumn/winter? Hopefully you’re not missing it already!

I’ll be back with a foodie post tomorrow!

23 thoughts on “Home-Grown

  1. that’s so so beautiful!! I’m a total basket case when it comes to gardening. Being a bit of a foodie, I’ve always dreamt of having vegetable garden, but I don’t really have to time nor the patience, and I always let plants die 😦 But looking at these pictures I can imagine your garden as a secret oase. Alfie is supercute. He looks a bit like a teddy bear 🙂
    I’m mostly going to miss the various summer fruits rather than vegetables, but I will be sad to see heirloom tomatoes go but am really excited about getting winter squash in it’s place.

    • Aw thank you Sonja, I feel very lucky to have a garden like mine 🙂
      I bet you’d love growing your own vegetables. You should just start with salad and herbs- pretty easy.
      Lots of people think Alfie looks like a teddy bear, although some kids think he’s a wolf!
      Interested to see how you use winter squash raw…

  2. Beautiful photos – and so different from the desert where I live. Unless your critters are totally different from the eastern US, your caterpillar should end up as a tussock moth (don’t know what the adults look like offhand, but the caterpillar is very distinctive. I also love your frog and toad. We had a lot of rain several weeks ago and have been watching tiny toads at our nearby state park. Desert toads. Pretty amazing. Your photos of flowers, fruits and vegetable almost make me miss living in a non-desert environment. Almost…

  3. Ah yes, a tussock moth! We looked up what he was but I’d forgotten. Thank you!
    We have the river at the bottom of the garden so it’s definitely very different the desert. I’d love to experience life in the desert though and especially see what kind of wildlife you have.

    • The desert is very different, but also rich in wildlife and flowers (at least the Chihuahuan Desert). My husband and I are very lucky to be able to spend a lot of time at a nearby state park which is an oasis, and even more amazingly full of life than the surrounding areas. I hope you can experience our desert one day. I’d love to share it with you.

  4. What a stunning garden you have there! I dream about growing veggies like that. I’ve had success with berries, apples and plums this year, but the tomatoes have been a big fail again. Every year I try, but they never ripen 😦
    I love all your wildlife and the beautiful pics you managed to get of them. We’ve got a big toad that’s sat on our doorstep every night this week. He’s so cute ♥

  5. What a plentiful garden! Love it! With regards to the Borlotti beans, they are great fresh. Just pod them and boil. They don’t take nearly as long to cook form dry. I have a few recipes for Borlotti beans on my site, but you could also search for “cranberry bean” which is their other name. Denis Cotter has a few more recipes, too, if I recall correctly.

  6. Wow Emma, these flowers are gorgeous especially that cute dog of yours (utterly cute), I wish I can have your garden! And look at these beautiful produces you’ve grown, thank you for sharing this wonderful non-food post!

    Great shots on the caterpillar & the frog, they are difficult to capture! I remember growing up with a massive yard in a small city, and there’s a big oak tree crawling with caterpillars and I climbed the tree, playing with them. That Inca Berry looks amazing…it reminds me of a green lantern! And as always, I’ve adored your crochet fruits!

    I’ve never grown my own vegetables this year…except for herbs (basil, Thai basil, cilantro) in big pots back in Oregon. I really like the Italian sweet peppers in Spain, they are so good!

  7. I love growing your own, my salad and herbs failed pretty badly this year but my dad always has an amazing bumper crop of stuff, so I usually take stuff from him or they freeze stuff for when I come to visit. Hopefully next year will be better for my crops.

    • Oh boo 😦 Better luck next time! Lucky you to get lots of home-grown freebies anyway. I hate having such a tiny freezer in my new place. I want to store so much more in there- especially frozen fruit!

Your comments make me smile!