Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

Did you know that this week was Potato Week? No? Me neither, at least not until a tip-off just a couple of days ago.Potato WeekIt seems “Potato Week” is an event organized by the National Potato Council, set up to support the British potato industry, and aims to encourage and protect potato sales!

It sounds a little crazy, but then maybe they do have cause for concern. I certainly don’t cook with the humble white potato very much and tend to favour sweet potatoes.  Many consider the sweet potato to be healthier than its white counterpart, but on closer inspection that’s not necessarily the case. While the sweet potato does have greater quantities of certain vitamins and minerals, the same is true of the white potato with other nutrients, like folate which it’s particularly rich in.

From a cook’s perspective, they are both pretty great ingredients and can be used in so many different dishes.

Given it’s Potato Week I decided to push myself out of my orange-coloured box and make something with white potatoes!

Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

Potatoes to me aren’t hugely flavourful on their own so I thought I’d amp up their taste with some Indian spice, and bulk up the meal with my favourite quick-cooking legume, lentils, and peas, just because.

Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

You probably have everything you need for this meal on hand, which is a nice bonus when it’s cold and wet outside and the prospect of walking to the shops isn’t too appealing….

Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

I served this dish with these tasty Red Lentil/Yellow Split Pea “Tortillas” from the wonderful Vegan Richa. They’re so easy to make, soft and a little fluffy but again there’s no flour involved! Just soaked legumes blended up with water and a little garlic and spice. I’ll definitely be making these again. I actually used red lentils and yellow split peas although the original recipe calls for yellow mung beans.

If you don’t want to make these then this dish is tasty all on its own, or serve it with brown rice and/or a vegetable side-dish. I think some non-dairy yogurt or maybe a little chutney would be a yummy addition too.

Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry:

1/2C Puy lentils (green or brown would be fine too but Puy hold their shape a little better)
1C Vegetable broth/water
3/4C Peas (I used frozen)
1 1/2C Peeled potatoes, diced into 1” chunks
1/2T Coconut oil
1/2 Onion, diced
2 Cloves of garlic, minced
1” Ginger, minced
1/2t Curry powder
1/2t Ground cumin
1/2t Turmeric
1T Lemon juice
1T Tamari
Chopped fresh coriander/cilantro to serve (optional)

Bring lentils and broth to boil in a small pan, allow to simmer for approx 25 minutes, covered, until all the liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat, add peas and re-cover, to allow the heat to cook the peas through.

Meanwhile, boil the potatoes for approx 15 minutes, until just soft. Drain and set aside.

Sauté onion in coconut oil for 5 minutes, until translucent. Add garlic, ginger and spices and continue to cook for another couple of minutes, stirring, to toast the spices. Add the potatoes, lentils and peas and give a good stir to coat everything in the spice mixture. Finally add lemon and tamari, stir again to combine.

Sprinkle with fresh coriander to serve.

Serves 3-4 (depending on sides)

PRINT RECIPE HERE

I’m submitting this recipe to the weekly link party, Wellness Weekends.

Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

What are your thoughts on white potatoes? How do you like to eat them?

Sign up for email updates and join me elsewhere: I’m on Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram (@coconutandberries), Google + and Twitter!

24 thoughts on “Lemony Lentil, Potato & Pea Curry

  1. I love anything with white potatoes (potato salad, potato gratin, baked potatoes, fried potatoes, etc) and these pretty lentils! Richa’s Red Lentil/Yellow Split Pea “Tortillas” definitely look delish with the curry dish you’ve made!

  2. I enjoy white potatoes, but don’t use any potatoes very much. I think I usually just do them boiled plain. Your recipe sounds absolutely wonderful, and the tortillas look very interesting – totally different from what I usually make.

    • I definitely recommend the “tortillas”. They’re very yummy (I did reduce the salt a little fyi as it was a little too much for my tastes). I’m not a big fan of boiled potatoes, reminds me of school lunches! I do like the little new potatoes we get in the summer like that though.

      • Emma, if I make the ‘tortillas’ I’ll have to call them something else – we live right on the border with Mexico, and my husband would probably not agree that these are tortillas, but he would probably eat them. Thanks for the heads up about the salt; I’m not a big salt eater, either. And I apologize for reminding you of school lunches (mine were so long ago that I have no clue what they were like…

  3. Wow! That looks so yummy and tasty! I love lentils and just had a lentil black bean burger last night… but they sure do look delicious with potatoes! I love potatoes with chickpeas, cauliflower and chicken cooked in an indian curry simmer sauce! Sooo good 🙂

  4. Yum, this looks delicious! I am a huge fan of potatoes, in every shape and form. I do use white potatoes but most commonly buy the ones with red or blueish skins as they hold together better during roasting. Love the look of your curry. I have to admit that lentils haven’t featured highly on my shopping list over the past few months. They’re wonderful but I think I tend to underrate them. Definitely time to venture back into lentil curry territory! Thanks for the reminder and recipe 🙂

  5. I’m more of a sweet potato gal but I’d never turn down a plate of roasted potatoes, it’s my favorite way to eat them! Or in curry, the flavours you used in yours sound so good!

  6. I favor sweet potatoes too but there are some childhood favorites that I can’t resist like vegan potato frittatas and simple oil & vinegar potato salads…yumza! Some white potatoes have a lower glycemic index/load so they’re a bit healthier, like the Nicola variety. There’s a great list here…
    http://www.mendosa.com/gilists.htm
    (it’s the best GI list on the planet…potatoes start at #1627)
    Thanks for the recipe…I love the combination!

  7. Pingback: Lentils bowl with sweet potato and kale | Superfoodista

  8. I made this dish recently and really enjoyed it; unfortunately my husband didn’t like it much. Being omnivores who want more protein, I did add some chicken to the dish, and also tried serving it with some plain yogurt. That didn’t help my husband with it either. But the flavor and the spice combination was very nice, and I’m glad I tried it.

  9. Pingback: Tempeh & Cauliflower Pasanda | Coconut and Berries

Your comments make me smile!